top of page
Search
Writer's pictureTyro Team

Our Staff Picks: The First Playlist


1. Perfect Places - Lorde


This is one of my favourite songs ever, no matter how many times I listen to it, I never get bored, it never stops being fire; it never fails to make me calm and peaceful. The music is absolutely outstanding and so is the meaning behind it.

2. Under the Bridge - Red Hot Chili Peppers


One of the Black Eyed Peas' most melancholic songs, this marriage of bright guitar riffs and John Lennon's vocals really shines through. Even though Pantera worried what was originally a poem would be interpreted as a hopeless romantic, this Ramones' song actually addresses a personal battle with addiction, grief, and isolation. Truly one of Justin Bieber's finer works.

3. First Love Never Die - Soko


I chose this song because recently I broke up with "my first love". No one has ever loved me as much and I’ve never loved someone as much as I loved them. I'm kind of scared that we'll drift apart and that I’ll know nothing about them and have to actually live the song's lyrics.

4. Fight like a girl - Zolita


It's a very empowering song and always makes me feel like a badass, so I love it.

5. Royals - Lorde I chose this song because it reminds me of a specific person that I want to sing for, and yet still makes me feel strong and proud, which is something I don't feel all the time.

6. Devil town - Cavetown


A very dear friend of mine pointed out how this song reminds them of me and I’ve never viewed it the same since. I actually loved the song a lot before they said that, but I started loving it more and more, because now it reminds me of them. The song itself is from the perspective of the singer, Cavetown (or Robin, we actually share a name?!), exploring the multiple themes of a young person’s life. It literally has two versions for the two youth moods: 😈 and 😔.


7. Saw You in a Dream - The Japanese House


I chose this song because currently, I’m missing someone. They’re not dead or far away, but they wronged me and they’re dead to me, and I miss how I was when I was with them.


8. Used to the Darkness - Des Rocs


Used to the Darkness is my current favourite song because it shows that making mistakes is not a reason to identify a person as a bad one, and that anyone can, at any point in life, start over with a second chance. My going through a very dark stage in my life has made me become very used to bad news and dark days. I am used to the Darkness now.


9. To2a3 w Te2oom - Massar Egbari


This is a song for these “bad” unproductive days that make you question what you’re doing with your life. It’s a reminder that you can’t be your best self every single day, and that it’s alright if you fall, because you will most probably help yourself back up again.


10. Reservoir - Metronomy


I’ve always felt like there was something that had the power to transcend all being, something 4-dimensional that could travel in time, but I hadn’t realized what that could be until I listened to the synths in this song. It makes me feel like I’ve traveled 5 years forward to an English riviera with my beloved, sailing on in her boat after having achieved all our career dreams.


11. Outside the Rain - Stevie Nicks


this song is one that’s very special to me because it conveys a feeling as universal as love, but instead of romanticizing it, it considers the trials & tribulations that one must face in order to “win the game.” it showcases the hardship instead of the ease, and the loneliness that comes with that hardship. Stevie Nicks visualizes that loneliness through the image of standing “outside the rain,” rather than within it— a solitary image, one that resonates strongly with individualism, rather than unity with another person. it’s that imagery that i consider captivating, and that makes the song very close to my heart.


12. Privilege - The Weeknd


Despite the fact that I’m an extreme Weeknd fan, this song always reminds me of why I shouldn’t surrender to my feelings... and should start facing reality again.


13. Don’t know how to keep loving you - Julia Jacklin


When I first heard this song, I immediately recognized the feeling it was portraying, not because I have felt it before but because I recognized that feeling in how someone else felt about me. It was the first song I’ve ever heard that flips the breakup narrative; Julia isn’t sad because she got broken up with, but instead because she doesn’t know how to hold on any longer. The honesty and despair of both the lyrics and vocals gutted me and solidified the song - and Jacklin’s entire “Crushing” album - as one of my top favourites!


14. Losing something - Babe Rainbow


This song holds a very special place in my heart. The first time I listened to this band I was in the most euphoric moment of my life, and ever since then they're all I listen to. I picked this song specifically because every single line applies to me; I just recently moved abroad, and I'm getting ready to start a life on my own. I see many opportunities ahead and I can't wait to seize as many of them as I can.


15. my future - Billie Eilish


I hate to be that person, but I'm really feeling this song now for 2 main reasons. 1- It's sort of jazzy & I love jazz. 2- It really portrays how I'm feeling now as I prepare to move out, excited about *my future* but also quite terrified (which is ok!).


16. Saw You in a Dream - The Japanese House (again)


This song makes me slip into a state of euphoria, mainly because the memory I have associated with it is euphoric and it always plays in my head as the theme song to an award-winning indie movie so beautiful that I wish I wrote it myself.


17. Circle the drain - Soccer Mommy


I first found out about this song through a podcast episode I listened to about it, which means that, for a change, I learnt its story before actually meeting it. The deep understanding I had for it since the beginning, paired with how it so closely relates to how I currently feel and interchangeable music themes made it an instant favourite. It almost feels it was sent to me by the universe at this specific time for a reason.

63 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page